Residents from Fort Beaufort and the surroundings took to the cricket grounds to catch the tournament’s fiery final between Tubs and Lamyeni Hard Catch on the 7th of January 2024 at Ngumbela Park, Healdtown.
The championship has been hailed for its development to rural cricket in Fort Beaufort from its humble beginnings in 1989. The cricket tournament celebrated its 35th year in existence after the late founder, Mthetheli Ngumbela, founded the tournament in a bid to resuscitate the sport in Fort Beaufort and the surroundings areas. Ngumbela discovered that creating a culture centred around sport was the answer to the surge in crime, violence, substance abuse, and violence that was rife during festive seasons.
Tubs were the victors and crowned champions, walking away with a prize money of R30 000. Individual talent was also on full display with players who performed exceptionally during the tournament earning various titles: Akhona Rhatyana won the Bowler of the Tournament award with a record of 30 wickets in 8 games, a cherry on top of the Tubs victory. Sinethemba Tshomela was awarded the Batsman of the Tournament title. Tubs player, Emihle Mgoqi received the Man of the Match award with a record of 71 runs with ten 4s and two 6s. Tubs triumphed over Lamyeni Hard Catch by 7 wickets.