The Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture (DSRAC) MEC Bulelwa Tunyiswa will participate on Umhlobo Wenene’s breakfast show ‘BEE’, spelling competition on Monday, 25 June 2018 at 07:50am, as means of promoting the Eastern Cape Use Official Languages Act.

The Eastern Cape Province has four official languages, namely; Afrikaans, English, isiXhosa and Sesotho which were approved by the Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature during the 2013/14 financial year, this includes the South African Sign Language. 
The official languages are regulated by section 6 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, which state amongst other things that in recognition of the historically diminished use and status of indigenous languages, section (6) obliges the state to take practical and positives measures to elevate the status and advance the use of indigenous languages.

Section 6 further indicates under 6(3) (a) that national government and each provincial government may use any official languages for the purposes of government, provided at least two official languages must be used. 
The example of government includes the use of language in public notices such as street signs and public information, in government reports, documents, hearings, transcript and other official publications intended for public distribution. This is why the public has a right to access information on official languages.
In addition section 6(4) obliges the national and provincial government to regulate and monitor the use of official languages by legislative and other measures. DSRAC is charged with this mandate and is in process of proclaiming the EC Official Languages Act by the MEC Tunyiswa in July 2018 on government gazette.   
For media queries, contact:
Mr Andile Nduna
Cell: 071 411 4820

Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture Eastern Cape
No. 5 Eales Street,
King William's Town,
Copyright © Disclaimer